If you're new to Mesos

See the getting started page for more information about downloading, building, and deploying Mesos.

If you'd like to get involved or you're looking for support

See our community page for more details.

Committers

An Apache Mesos committer is a contributor who has been given write access to the Apache Mesos code repository and related Apache infrastructure. In the Mesos project, each committer is also a voting member of the PMC.

Becoming a committer

Every new committer has to be proposed by a current committer and then voted in by the members of the Mesos PMC. For details about this process and for candidate requirements see the general Apache guidelines for assessing new candidates for committership. Candidates prepare for their nomination as committer by contributing to the Mesos project and its community, by acting according to the Apache Way, and by generally following the path from contributor to committer for Apache projects. Specifically for the Mesos project, you can make use of the Apache Mesos Committer Candidate Checklist for suggestions of what kind of contributions and demonstrated behaviors can be instrumental, and to keep track of your progress.

Current Committers

We’d like to thank the following committers to the Apache Mesos project who have helped get the project to where it is today. This list might be stale, the canonical list is located on Apache’s website.

Timezone GMT Full Name Company/Organization IRC Handle Email Address
-8 Ross Allen Facebook ssorallen@apache.org
-5 Kapil Arya Mesosphere / Northeastern University kapil@apache.org
-8 Adam B Mesosphere adam-mesos me@apache.org
-8 Tim Chen Mesosphere tnachen tnachen@apache.org
-8 Neil Conway Mesosphere neilc neilc@apache.org
-8 Ian Downes Twitter idownes idownes@apache.org
-8 Ali Ghodsi UC Berkeley alig@apache.org
-8 Dominic Hamon YouTube dma@apache.org
-8 Benjamin Hindman Mesosphere _benh_ benh@apache.org
-8 Ian Holsman ianh@apache.org
+8 Haosdent Huang Shopee haosdent haosdent@apache.org
+8 Kevin Klues Mesosphere klueska klueska@apache.org
-8 Vinod Kone Mesosphere vinodkone vinodkone@apache.org
-8 Andy Konwinski Databricks andrew@apache.org
-8 Dave Lester Apple dlester dlester@apache.org
+8 Guangya Liu IBM gyliu513 gyliu@apache.org
-8 Benjamin Mahler Mesosphere bmahler bmahler@apache.org
-8 Thomas Marshall Carnegie Mellon University tmarshall@apache.org
+1 Bernd Mathiske Mesosphere bernd bernd@apache.org
-8 Brenden Matthews Mesosphere brenden_ brenden@apache.org
-8 Chris Mattmann NASA JPL mattmann@apache.org
-8 Anand Mazumdar Mesosphere anandm anand@apache.org
-8 Brian McCallister Groupon brianm@apache.org
-8 Niklas Quarfot Nielsen Intel niq_ nnielsen@apache.org
-5 Michael Park Mesosphere mpark mpark@apache.org
+1 Alex R Mesosphere alexr alexr@apache.org
-8 Charles Reiss UC Berkeley woggle@apache.org
-8 Joris Van Remoortere Mesosphere joris joris@apache.org
-8 Gilbert Song Mesosphere gilbert@apache.org
-5 Timothy St Clair Redhat tstclair tstclair@apache.org
+1 Till Toenshoff Mesosphere tillt tillt@apache.org
-8 Thomas White Cloudera tomwhite@apache.org
-8 Joseph Wu Mesosphere josephwu@apache.org
-8 Yan Xu Apple xujyan yan@apache.org
-8 Jie Yu Mesosphere jieyu jieyu@apache.org
-8 Matei Alexandru Zaharia Databricks matei@apache.org
+8 Qian Zhang IBM qianzhang@apache.org

If you’re interested in becoming a committer yourself, the best way to do so is by participating in developer discussions and contributing patches to the project.

Maintainers

Maintainers are committers that have spent a significant amount of time and effort in the maintenance of a component in the project. Since maintainers have generally lived through the experience of maintaining a part of the project, they tend to have additional context, a sense of direction, a long-term outlook, and an increased incentive to ensure that development is done in a sustainable manner. Maintainers are responsible for the following:

  • Providing timely feedback on bug reports and review requests.
  • Ensuring the code is straightforward, easy to read / understand.
  • Keeping technical debt within reasonable levels.
  • Ensuring the code is generally covered by tests.
  • Ensuring the code follows the style guidelines.
  • Ensuring that any unintuitive or difficult pieces of code are explained with comments.
  • Ensuring that any hacks, known limitations, or future considerations are accompanied with TODOs as appropriate.

We’re here to build great software together! Maintainers are a means to ensure that we can continue to build great software while scaling the amount of contributors and committers in the project. The responsibilities listed above are expected from all committers in the project in the work that they do, no matter which component they touch. Maintainers additionally carry the above responsibilities for all changes going into a particular component, no matter who is doing the work.

All committers of the Mesos project are expected to use good judgement when committing patches as to whether the maintainers should be consulted.

Examples of changes that would benefit from maintainer consultation:

  • Changing or adding functionality.
  • Fixing a non-trivial bug.
  • Non-trivial refactoring.
  • Non-trivial performance improvements.
  • Substantial additions or updates to documentation.

Examples of changes that do not generally require maintainer consultation:

  • Fixing typos.
  • Trivial bug fixes.
  • Trivial cleanups, e.g. cleaning up headers.

We aim to have more than one maintainer for each component, in order to ensure that contributors can obtain timely feedback. To avoid information silos, we encourage committers to learn about areas of the code that they are unfamiliar with.

Current Maintainers

Component Maintainers (alphabetical)
Master / Agent Benjamin Hindman, Vinod Kone, Benjamin Mahler, Jie Yu
Framework API Benjamin Hindman, Vinod Kone, Benjamin Mahler, Jie Yu
State Libraries Benjamin Hindman, Benjamin Mahler
Replicated Log Benjamin Hindman, Jie Yu
ZooKeeper Bindings Benjamin Hindman, Vinod Kone, Benjamin Mahler, Yan Xu
Authentication / Authorization Adam B, Vinod Kone, Till Toenshoff
Modules / Hooks Kapil Arya, Benjamin Hindman, Niklas Nielsen
Oversubscription Vinod Kone, Niklas Nielsen, Jie Yu
CLI maintainers needed
WebUI Haosdent Huang, Benjamin Mahler
Project Website Dave Lester

Containerization

Component Subcomponent Maintainers (alphabetical)
Mesos Containerizer Ian Downes, Jie Yu
Image Provisioner Gilbert Song, Jie Yu
IO Switchboard Kevin Klues, Jie Yu
Launcher Benjamin Hindman, Jie Yu
Cgroups Isolator Haosdent, Gilbert Song, Jie Yu
CNI Isolator Avinash Sridharan (cc), Jie Yu, Qian Zhang
Nvidia GPU Isolator Kevin Klues
XFS Isolator Yan Xu, James Peach (cc)
Docker Containerizer Tim Chen, Benjamin Hindman

C++ Libraries

Component Maintainers (alphabetical)
Libprocess Benjamin Hindman, Benjamin Mahler, Jie Yu
Stout Benjamin Hindman, Vinod Kone, Benjamin Mahler, Jie Yu